Posts Tagged ‘home’

Ep. 022 Cleaning Strategies for the Naturally Messy Mom // Candi Kidd of @operation_organization

Cleaning Strategies for the Naturally Messy Mom __ Candi Kidd

Since I was a little girl, I have left a “wake” behind me everywhere I go–cupboards left open, shoes kicked off in the middle of the hallway, and spills on the kitchen counter that should’ve been wiped up immediately but I didn’t even notice them.

Luckily, I have a very wise friend who is teaching me better habits.  Candi Kidd (who was our guest in Episode 001!) teaches moms who are naturally messy like me how to keep their lives more tidy and orderly.  And her tips can really help any mom, even if you are naturally a neat-freak (P.S. you amaze me), because we all live with children…and children bring chaos and confusion along with them everywhere they go.

Join Candi and me as we dive into these three takeaways:

 

1) Be a detective to find and then solve the messy spots in your home.

2) Lower the “activation energy” it takes to get started with cleaning.

3) Focus on completing one J.O.B. per day.

 

Show Notes:

Candi’s new Instagram account, operation_organization: https://www.instagram.com/operation_organization/

Candi’s first episode, “Getting Unmotivated Kids to Help”: http://3in30podcast.com/unmotivated-kids-to-help/

The House that Cleans Itself by Mindy Starns Clark: https://www.amazon.com/House-That-Cleans-Itself-Solutions/dp/0736918809

Jordan Page who came up with the acronym J.O.B. (just one bite): FunCheaporFree.com

Shel Silverstein poem about Melinda Mae who ate the whale: http://shelsilverstein.yolasite.com/melinda-mae.php

Listen to this episode

Ep. 018 Speak Your Partner’s Love Language // Celeste Davis of Marriage Laboratory

Celeste Davis of the website Marriage Laboratory shares the "experiments" that she did with the five love languages

“I got this crazy idea in my head 3.5 years ago to start a marriage blog, but I had so many doubts, like ‘Why would I do that?  I’m not that great of a wife…’ But the idea just coming back and back… And eventually I kind of thought, ‘I can just try things and tell people how it went. I can experiment. I can conduct marriage experiments.”

This is the premise behind “Marriage Laboratory,” a marriage blog run by Celeste Davis and her husband Rich (who happens to be a real-life scientist studying immunology).  This past year, she conducted experiments on the five love languages by simply focusing on one per month.

Today on the podcast, Celeste will share some of her experiments and outcomes in the following areas:

 

1) Words of Affirmation: Send your husband a loving note, text, or email every day for a month

2) Quality Time: Dedicate ten minutes every single night to just sitting and talking with your spouse, with no phones anywhere in sight!

3) Physical Touch: Have sex every other day for a month (don’t worry–she doesn’t get too steamy on this one, but her story is pretty fascinating)

 

Don’t miss this conversation with a wife and mother who is dedicating her life to loving her family better, in simple but profound ways.

 

Show Notes

-Celeste’s marriage blog, Marriage Laboratory: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/

The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman:

1) Words of Affirmation

-“42 Love Letter Prompts”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/42-love-letter-prompts/

-“40 Loving Texts to Send RIGHT NOW to Make Your Partner’s Day”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/40-loving-texts/

2) Quality Time

-“10-Minute Daily Connect Challenge”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/10-minute-daily-connect-busy-couples/

-“The Ultimate Guide to Speaking the Love Language of Quality Time”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/quality-time-love-language-guide/

-Article Rachel read about “bids for attention”: https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2014/06/happily-ever-after/372573/

3) Physical Touch

-“6 Resources for Spicing Up Your Marriage in the Bedroom”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/spice-up-your-marriage/

-“What Would Happen If You Had Sex Every Other Day for a Month?”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/sex-every-other-day/

4) Gifts

-“46 Just Because Gift Ideas to Make Your Spouse’s Day”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/just-because-gift-ideas/

-“DIY Anniversary Gifts (that we’ve actually made)”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/diy-anniversary-gifts/

5) Acts of Service

-“The Best Way to Get Your Marriage Out of a Rut”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/marriage-out-of-a-rut/

 

 

Listen to this episode

Ep. 015 Three Valentines Traditions for the Whole Family // Sarah McKenna of Bombshell Bling

Podcast explaining three awesome Valentines Day traditions for the entire family // 3 in 30 Takeaways for Moms Podcast

The first Valentines Day that my husband and I were dating, he showed up on my doorstep with flowers and a clue that started me on a scavenger hunt to romantic places all around our college town.

Seven years later, on our first Valentines Day as parents, he showed up on our doorstep with…a toilet plunger.  (You’ll have to listen to the episode to get the full story!)

Yes, becoming parents can definitely affect the romance of Valentines Day a bit–but there’s no reason why this “holiday of love” has to be limited to just you and your spouse.  February 14th can be a day to celebrate family love as well!

In this episode, my amazing sister Sarah McKenna, from the craft blog Bombshell Bling, shares three totally doable and super fun Valentines traditions for the entire family.

1) Secret Cupids: https://www.bombshellbling.com/secret-cupids-valentines-day-family-tradition/

2) Heart Attacks: https://www.bombshellbling.com/heart-attack/

3) Love Letters to your Kids: https://www.bombshellbling.com/mushy-love-letters-a-february-tradition/

 

All three of these traditions can be adapted for little kids up to teenagers, and all of them will bring your family closer together.  I hope you will give at least one of them a try, and let me know at my instagram account: @3in30podcast.

Show Notes

-Sarah’s craft blog: BombshellBling.com

-“32 Ways to Surprise Your Sweetie” by Rachel Nielson: https://www.bombshellbling.com/things-for-hubby-valentines-day/

Listen to this episode

Ep. 007 How to Create a More Peaceful Home // Cate Johnson

Ep 007 How to Create a More Peaceful Home

“At any given point, you can say, ‘This is not how the story is going to end.'”

Cate Johnson was a mother of two young children with a big, beautiful home in the country.  From the outside, it looked like she was “living the dream,” but inside, she felt like she was drowning.

She craved peace and connection with her children–but instead she felt only chaos and overwhelm. She spent hours cleaning her big home while her kids watched television. She felt heartbroken that she was not the mother that she had always wanted to be.

In this powerful episode, Cate shares three small but significant changes that transformed their home environment:

1) Using the five senses to create a haven of peace.

2) Designating a “kid of the day” to eliminate fighting.

3) Structuring their family time around rhythms to create stability.

Cate is now a fulfilled, empowered mother, and she has a message of hope for all of us: We can have more peaceful homes, no matter where we live.

Show Notes

Simplicity Parenting by Kim John Payne

Lullaby Playlist

Whole Family Rhythms

Cate Johnson Quote--FINAL 3 in 30 Podcast 2

Listen to this episode