Posts Tagged ‘marriage’

058: What Happened to my Sex Drive & What Can I Do to Get It Back? // Dr. Jennifer Finlayson-Fife

What Happened to My Sex Drive & What Can I Do to Get It Back?

Dr. Jennifer Finlayson-Fife is a licensed psychotherapist specializing in relationship and sexuality counseling. On today’s podcast, she discusses three common ways that women’s mindsets around sex can decrease our desire.

You’re going to want a pen and paper as you listen to this one. This woman is a genius, and she dives DEEP into our psyches! Get ready to take notes.

If you are interested in more of Dr. Finalyson-Fife’s work, go to http://www.finlayson-fife.com/ and check out her courses, which are 20% off through Christmas. I highly recommend!

Show Notes

Art of Desire Course: http://www.finlayson-fife.com/art-post-lms/

“How to Embrace Your Inner Hotness” by Leta Greene: https://www.amazon.com/How-Embrace-Your-Inner-Hotness-ebook/dp/B00N7VTACS

 

 

Listen to this episode

018: Speak Your Partner’s Love Language // Celeste Davis of Marriage Laboratory

Celeste Davis of the website Marriage Laboratory shares the "experiments" that she did with the five love languages

“I got this crazy idea in my head 3.5 years ago to start a marriage blog, but I had so many doubts, like ‘Why would I do that?  I’m not that great of a wife…’ But the idea just coming back and back… And eventually I kind of thought, ‘I can just try things and tell people how it went. I can experiment. I can conduct marriage experiments.”

This is the premise behind “Marriage Laboratory,” a marriage blog run by Celeste Davis and her husband Rich (who happens to be a real-life scientist studying immunology).  This past year, she conducted experiments on the five love languages by simply focusing on one per month.

Today on the podcast, Celeste will share some of her experiments and outcomes in the following areas:

 

1) Words of Affirmation: Send your husband a loving note, text, or email every day for a month

2) Quality Time: Dedicate ten minutes every single night to just sitting and talking with your spouse, with no phones anywhere in sight!

3) Physical Touch: Have sex every other day for a month (don’t worry–she doesn’t get too steamy on this one, but her story is pretty fascinating)

 

Don’t miss this conversation with a wife and mother who is dedicating her life to loving her family better, in simple but profound ways.

 

Show Notes

-Celeste’s marriage blog, Marriage Laboratory: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/

The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman:

1) Words of Affirmation

-“42 Love Letter Prompts”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/42-love-letter-prompts/

-“40 Loving Texts to Send RIGHT NOW to Make Your Partner’s Day”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/40-loving-texts/

2) Quality Time

-“10-Minute Daily Connect Challenge”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/10-minute-daily-connect-busy-couples/

-“The Ultimate Guide to Speaking the Love Language of Quality Time”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/quality-time-love-language-guide/

-Article Rachel read about “bids for attention”: https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2014/06/happily-ever-after/372573/

3) Physical Touch

-“6 Resources for Spicing Up Your Marriage in the Bedroom”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/spice-up-your-marriage/

-“What Would Happen If You Had Sex Every Other Day for a Month?”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/sex-every-other-day/

4) Gifts

-“46 Just Because Gift Ideas to Make Your Spouse’s Day”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/just-because-gift-ideas/

-“DIY Anniversary Gifts (that we’ve actually made)”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/diy-anniversary-gifts/

5) Acts of Service

-“The Best Way to Get Your Marriage Out of a Rut”: http://www.marriagelaboratory.com/blog/marriage-out-of-a-rut/

 

 

Listen to this episode

017: Three Keys to a Happier Marriage // Jody Moore of Bold New Mom

Life Coach Jody Moore of Bold New Mom teaches three impactful mindset-shifts to improve our relationships

“Love is always going to serve you best. You are your best, most creative, most confident, most genius self when you’re operating in love.”

Jody Moore is a life coach and podcaster whose business has exploded in the past couple of years due to the wise principles that she teaches about how we can adjust our own thoughts in order to achieve more happiness in our relationships with others.

Jody teaches that happiness is a skill—something that we need to learn how to do and then work on it and practice over and over. On today’s podcast, she talks about three of her hallmark principles:

 

1) Your relationship is the story you tell yourself.  Make it a good one.

2) You are 100% responsible for your own emotions–and no one else’s.

3) Every person on earth is worthy of love, just as they are.

 

Please listen in as we discuss these principles in the context of marriage, and don’t forget to claim your free printable of Jody’s “Three Keys to a Happier Marriage” by visiting 3in30podcast.com.  (Thanks to Natalie Hansen from the podcast Babes Unpaused for designing it!)

Link to the PDF Version (for download and printing or saving): https://drive.google.com/file/d/1mJnv9KsKx32KV8xpGNBlAztSm2PjgeWz/view?usp=sharing

Jody Moore// 3 Keys to a Happier Marriage

Show Notes

-Rachel’s “3 in 30 Takeaways for Moms” Instagram account: https://www.instagram.com/3in30podcast/

-Jody Moore’s Website: boldnewmom.com

-“Ask Jody Anything” Free Coaching Call: https://boldnewmom.lpages.co/public-call-invite/

-Instagrammer I follow who sees motherhood through a beautiful lens: https://www.instagram.com/kellyejensen/

-Natalie Hansen’s Podcast: Babes Unpaused: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/babes-unpaused-podcast/id1334298125?mt=2

Listen to this episode